Blog of an aspiring foodie

A couple of recipes from this weekend (for later maybe?)

Posted by beer_chris on 4-August-2005

Need to get a couple of recipes out here – I'm using this blog more and more as a personal archive of useful stuff. With my DSL down last weekend, I got my sister to look up my chicken rub (Roasterish chicken… which was still awesome, even the second time around)

Here are a couple others:

My latest turkey burger iteration:
2 lbs ground turkey (not simply ground turkey breast – too blah)
1 cup sharp cheddar (white is the best – tried Kraft Mexican mix – too gooey)
1 tbsp chili powder
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp salt (maybe a little more)
1/4 tsp black pepper
generous pinch cayenne
1 egg (scrambled)

Better still with chopped sun dried tomatoes (the kind packed in oil) and a little bit of tomato paste. I left that out this time because my Dad (who I thought was eating with us but ended up not) is allergic to tomatoes.

'White' gazpacho
My Mom recently got back from a trip to North Carolina with her friends. They had a dinner on Tuesday (08/02) where they each tried to replicate a dish they had while on this trip. My mother was assigned a the white gazpacho that was served as an appetizer at one of the restaurants they visited while there, and which everyone had raved about. Ironically, my mother was sicj that day and actually didn't have any at the restaurant, and so was trying to formulate a recipe based on what others told her. She and I spent quite some time on the phone talking up various ideas, looking for recipes, and trying to deduce the basic ingredients. She knew it was cucumber-puree based, and so had found a couple of recipes (one from Martha Stewart) that called for 2-3 cups of chicken stock. She also knew that the version they had in NC had some type of white beans – probably cannelini. As she and I talked about it last Sunday, I could feel inspiration growing. After talking about it a while, I had come up with an approach which I thought would really 'pop' out the fresh taste of the cucumber. I tried it, and MAN was it great:

(Chris) White Gazpacho
4 large cucumbers, peeled, seeded and roughly chopped
1 med yellow onion, peeled and roughly chopped
2 serrano peppers, halved – 3 of the 4 halves seeded and de-veined
2 nopales, cleaned and roughly chopped
2 tbsp butter
1 cup sour cream
3 cups chicken stock (low salt or homemade)
4 med green tomatoes, peeled and chopped
1-2 tbsp salt (to taste)

Melt the butter
Put the onion, pepper and nopales in a roasting pan.
Toss the vegetable mix with the butter until roughly coated
Roast at 400 for 25 minutes
Puree all ingredients together
Mix in sour cream
Refrigerate and serve, garnished with a dollop of fresh sour cream, fresh chopped tomato and freshly ground black pepper

My mother used my recipe as a basis (sans nopales, green tomatoes and with olive oil instead of butter), and added garlic to the roast (she used a half clutch, a full is really necessary), and also added cannellini beans. It was a big hit.

The serranos are the secret – one half of one unseeded pepper is just enough heat to make it great and pop the flavors out onto your palate.

This could easily be vegan with the substitution of vegetable stock.

Leave a Reply

 
