Blog of an aspiring foodie

Thanksgiving thoughts

Posted by beer_chris on 24-November-2006

  • If when I host Thanksgiving, I'm getting my turkey smoked. I had a smoked turkey for the first time this year, and it was darn tootin' tasty. Not to mention my hosts (thanks Karen and Monnie Weddel of New Braunfels) only had to reheat the durn thing.
  • I like my stuffing with a rough chop of all types of things. I like little chunks of celery, onion, some boiled egg – heck, even a bit of unidentifiable meat-type objects are A-OK with me. I also like it to be moist, almost greasy.
  • Thanksgiving is all about corrupting side dish ingredients into things they simply aren't meant to be – or coloring them in ways that nature never intended. This is a bit odd of a statement for me because usually I'm the first to want to dress some veggies with a little salt and pepper and leave it at that. However, if would feel strange on Thanksgiving to eat side items in that way. I want my green beans slathered in canned mushroom soup and sprinkled with crunchy onions from a can. I wouldn't have it any other way then to eat my sweet potatoes with copious amounts of sugar, butter and of course, marshmallows. Side dishes and vegetables become simple butter and sugar delivery mechanisms – nothing more.
  • Fruit salad is not necessarily as important as having something sweet – like raspberry jello pudding.
  • The turkey isn't quite the heart of the matter – it's the sides, the pies and the folks.
Leave a Reply

 
