Blog of an aspiring foodie

Quick crab fest update

Posted by beer_chris on 23-May-2007

Goodness I've been a bad blogger of late.

Time to make a quick entry on crab fest. I think I ate more crab this year then in the last two combined. Disappointingly the fest lacked both BBQ crabs (my personal fave) and pistolletes, a kind of deep fried kolache that has been at each of the last 2. Additionally the bottomless root beer folks were not in attendance this year either . . so be it I guess.

However, we were big fans of this corn roasting contraption – I didn't get a picture, but needless to say Jaime was ready to make an offer on this man's device by the time we departed on Sunday.

On top of eating way more crab than in past years, I got to see a good bit more of the music, including a fun family band from Lafayette called L'Angelus – cajun country rockish. Quite good toe-tapping music.

My fave crab purveyor was again Lighthouse Krewe – 2-time winners of 'Best Crab Dish' and 'Best Gumbo'.

Also, discovered that my smiling face was on the promo website for this year's event. That's me on the left, working hard with my fellow judges at comparing the 2006 entrants in the cookoff (note the can of 'working hard' in my right hand):
Me_On_CrystalBeach_Website

Some other shots of crab fest and Mother's Day weekend on Bolivar:
</td.
P1010027 P1010029 P1010045
Ferry Robert C. Lanier Crab Races!
P5120049 P1010044
Lil' Bit and the Customatics Crabfest grounds

Leave a Reply

 
