Blog of an aspiring foodie

Lawry’s the Blog Post

Posted by beer_chris on 18-March-2008

I learned recently that those mavens of grocery store seasoning packets Lawry’s actually started as a steakhouse way back when – and that it all started with Lawry’s Seasoned Salt. Customers loved this salt so much that the restaurant (a Beverly Hills institution) started selling it commercially. Eventually this led to the 59 cent seasoning packs I love so much today (along with acquisition by Unilever at some point)
Needless to say, The steakhouse is still going strong with locations across the US – and it has maintained that 60’s smoky back room name – ‘Lawry’s The Prime Rib’

I just love it. It makes me want to put on a blue blazer, get a buzz cut and put on a thin tie before I drive up to Dallas to have the ‘Diamond Jim Brady’ cut of prime rib – which is wheeled to my table on a cart!

I wonder if they have a company store where I can buy some Lawry’s spaghetti seasoning. And here’s a guarantee next time I mix it up with my fave Lawry’s seasoning packet:

‘What’s for dinner, honey’

‘Lawry’s The Tacos, dear’

🙂

Leave a Reply

 
