Blog of an aspiring foodie

Frozen in Thyme is simply solid

Posted by beer_chris on 27-July-2008

For Christmas, my parents gave Jaime and I a gift certificate to the local meal preparation service here in Clear Lake. The name of the business is ‘Frozen in Thyme’, and after some initial doubts I have really come to appreciate what they do for us. With my current job, I work ~12 hour days. 2-3 days a week I spend most of the evening on the phone with Malaysia. Cooking a meal just doesn’t fit this schedule. Jaime and I were eating takeout 4-5 nights a week. Some nights all I ate was a PB&J. Jaime broke down and went to one of the ‘freezer sales’ at Frozen in Thyme and we’ve been in love ever since. Probably 3 nights a week we eat one of their thaw-and-prepare meals.

This past week reinforced why I have become such a believer in what they do. Jaime dropped in on a Tuesday morning after her therapy, and met the executive chef (Heather King, I think). They discussed the meals we liked and didn’t like so much, and Ms. King went on to lament the current state of family meal preparation, and that even some of her clients were still cooking two meals at home – a FIT meal for the parents and a batch of mac and cheese or chicken nuggets for the kids, as the children weren’t eating the FIT meals. This was the first point she and I are in complete agreement on – althoug I don’t have kids yet, something I think is very important is for children and parents to (1) eat the same things and (2) eat together. Although there is nothing wrong with fish sticks and pizza, that cannot be the limits of what a child is made to try, and certainly cannot be a special meal just for the child – while parents eat something else.

In addition, Ms. King mentioned that another meal preparation service in Houston was including ingredients like canned soup and stock in the meals to-go. She couldn’t believe this, and as very clear that she strives to make and prep everything fresh for the meals from Frozen in Thyme. This is another reason why I love this place so much. I am paying them to do the prep I do not have time to do – which includes making my own stocks, prepping my vegetables and meats from fresh and keeping things as seasonal as I can. Dumbing down to casseroles and boxed meals is something I can do myself. The beauty of the FIT service is that we still eat new and interesting meals without having to invest the time needed to conceive and cook them ourselves.

That, and Jaime is learning the basics of food prep! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

 
