Blog of an aspiring foodie

Oven roasted brisket

Posted by beer_chris on 25-July-2009

I got bamboozled into buying a packer brisket at Kroger on 4’th of July weekend. They were only 98 cents/lb, and I just can’t resist cheap meat. I’ve made this mistake many times before only to toss out the spoiled meat in a guilty rage some weeks later, feeling like a complete waste.

See, I don’t own a smoker. I have  Weber grill, and I have successfully cooked one of these giant briskets on it once. It took all weekend (just about – all of a Saturday and into the wee hours on Sunday) and an immense amount of care and focus. The result was stupendous, as home-smoked brisket always is. However the work was simply overbearing. When I’m at the store looking at a cheap brisket, the sitting outside for hours, smelling like smoke for days and staying up all night parts seem far away and almost glamorous. However, once I get home the reality of how much work it really is comes crashing in – and this wonderful cut of meat sits in my fridge (or worse, my freezer in the garage), until it just about is ready to walk out on its own.

The last three or four times I’ve bought one of these has ended in a guilt-filled moment where I turn my head, cry a single tear and drop the brisket (still in the cryo packing) into the big black CoH trash can – vowing never to be tricked again.

But the pattern repeats itself. I eat fantastic brisket at someone’s house, I see it on sale, my brain thinks ‘man, I can DO this!’ and suddenly I’ve got another one in my fridge staring at me. This Thursday was the watershed moment for the latest purchase. The sell by date was the week before. The cryo pack was starting to fill with liquid/blood that had drained from the meat.

It was time to do something.

I swallowed down all my Texan pride and made a fateful decision: I would oven roast the thing. I did some Internet searching and settled on a wet marinade. I found a recipe that sounded good, and then I ended up completely modifying it, although I did follow the cooking instructions pretty well to the tee.

It turned out pretty good. I took out the tip/point end after about 5 hours, and it came out really nice, somewhere in between real smoked brisket and plain old roast beef. The blade/flat end I left in until about 11 hrs total, lowering the heat to 170 for the final 6 hours cooking time. It was overcooked and tough, but flavorful – it will make a nice chop for tacos or eggs.

Bottom line, I’m not afraid of losing my Texas citizenship by treating a brisket in this way – it still tastes like brisket, and it will keep me from throwing away perfectly good meat when I get seduced again at the grocery store.

Ytee’s Oven Roasted Brisket

1 large onion, chopped
½ cup liquid smoke (Colgins)
½ cup Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp Tex-Joy all-purpose seasoning
1 clutch garlic, pressed
¼ cup chili sauce (Heinz)
¼ cup light brown sugar
  1. Wash and dry the brisket.
  2. Trim as much fat and silverskin as possible from the meat, and separate the blade and tip ends, roughly cutting the meat into two equal size pieces.
  3. Wash and dry the meat again
  4. Mix the marinade ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
  5. Put each half into a large roasting dish, just a bit larger than the meat itself.
  6. Pour half of the marinade into each pan, and turn the brisket to cover it fully.
  7. Cover each roasting dish tightly with foil.
  8. Roast at 275 for ~5-6 hours, until internal temps are about 200 degrees
  9. Wrap tightly in foil and let rest for about 30 minutes-1 hour
  10. Refrigerate or serve.
One Response to “Oven roasted brisket”

  1. Mindy said

    Yes, another convert to Cheater BBQ. No need to apologize for using all-natural liquid smoke. Eat up and enjoy the smoky flavor!

Leave a Reply

 
